Marie-Thérèse Fourneau French Columbia78rpm recordings

SKRP78002 “Marie-Thérèse Fourneau French Columbia78rpm recordings”

French pianist Marie-Thérèse Fourneau was born in 1927. She studied at the Paris Conservatoire with Marguerite Long, Joseph Calvet and Jean Doyen, graduating with the Premier Prix de Piano in 1942. In 1943 she received second place to Samson François’s first prize at the International Marguerite Long-Jacques Thibaud Competition. In 1946 she won first prize at the Concours international de virtuosité de Genève. In 1947, she received a Grand prix du Disque. Her brilliant international career was cut short by multiple sclerosis. She died at the Hospital de Saint-Mandé (in Val-de-Marne, France) at the age of 73 on 11 May 2000.

Track list :
M. Ravel
01. Sonatina No.1 – Moderé
02. Sonatina No.2 – Mouvement de Menuet
03. Sonatina No.3 – Animé
04. Oiseaux Tristes Extrait des “Miroirs”

C. Debussy
05. Jardins sous la pluie
06. Étude pour les Arpèges composées

G. Fauré
07. 3e Barcarolle in G Flat Major, Op. 42

F. Chopin
08. Mazurka No.32 in C# minor, Op.50-3
09. Fantasie-Polonaise in A-flat, Op.61

All track from French Columbia recorded ca.1948~1951 in Paris.
* The label photo of the SP record shown is the original record used as the sound source for this CD. The SP record itself is not a product.


French Pianism